East European Societies
print

Language Selection

Breadcrumb Navigation


Content

Societies in Eastern Europe

cover

 

Our research and teaching covers societal and political changes in Central and Eastern Europe, particularly in current member states of the European Union with histories of communist rule. We analyse these developments from the perspective of comparative political sociology. We put our comparative focus especially on sociopolitical diversity within Central and Eastern Europe, as well as similarities to developments in other regions.

Our main areas of interest cover interactions between political and societal change, agency of political elites, anti-establishment politics and social movements, as well as the challenges of radical right politics and democratic backsliding.

We focus primarily on qualitative methods (particularly rule-guided qualitative content and discourse analysis) However, we also cover case study analyses, as well as quantative and mixed methods research.

Picture:
Autor: Sakuto, CC BY-NC 2.0 (Source)

Professor Dr. Alexander Libman will transfer to the Free University of Berlin as of October 1, 2020, to the Chair of Political Science with a focus on Eastern Europe and Russia.

You will find all current news on the German website.

Gesellschaften Osteuropas
print

Sprachumschaltung

Navigationspfad


Inhaltsbereich

Gesellschaften Osteuropas

Autor: Sakuto, CC BY-NC 2.0

Unsere Forschung und Lehre beschäftigen sich mit politischen und gesellschaftlichen Veränderungen in postkommunistischen Ländern Europas, insbesondere in den aktuellen Mitgliedsstaaten der Europäischen Union. Wir untersuchen diese Entwicklungen aus der Perspektive der vergleichenden politischen Soziologie. Vergleichend legen wir den Fokus vor allem auf die gesellschaftspolitische Diversität innerhalb Mittel- und Osteuropas sowie auf Ähnlichkeiten zu Entwicklungen in anderen Regionen.

Unsere Schwerpunkte sind unter anderem Interaktionen zwischen Politik- und Gesellschaftswandel, Handlungen und Deutungsmuster politischer Eliten, Anti- Establishment-Politik und zivilgesellschaftliche soziale Bewegungen, sowie die Problematik von Rechtsradikalismus und Entdemokratisierungsprozessen.

Methodisch fokussieren wir uns auf qualitative Methoden, insbesondere regelgeleitete qualitative Inhalts- und Diskursanalyse. Unsere Forschung deckt aber auch Fallstudienanalysen sowie quantitative und Mixed-Methods Verfahren ab.

Bild:
Autor: Sakuto, CC BY-NC 2.0 (Quelle)

 

Herr Professor Dr. Alexander Libman wechselt zum 01.10.2020 zur Freien Universität Berlin, Professur Politikwissenschaft mit Schwerpunkt Osteueropa und Russland.


Meldungen

Alle Meldungen